PRAIRIE-HILLS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICT DISTRICT ANNEX BOARD ROOM MARKHAM. ILLINOIS 60428

August 3, 2020

1. Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance (2:220)

President Sharron Davis called the meeting to order at 2:05pm.

2. Roll Call (2:220)

The following members were present: Ms. Juanita Jordan, Ms. Joyce Dickerson, Ms. Barbara Nettles and Ms. Sharron Davis. The following members were absent: Mrs. Natalie Myers, Mrs. Kathy Taylor and Ms. Elaine Walker.

Also present were: Dr. Kimako Patterson, Superintendent, Mrs. Julia Veazey, Assistant Superintendent, Mrs. Deborah Clayton, Chief School Business Official, Mrs. Carrie Ablin, Director of Student Services and Dr. Kenneth Scott, Assistant Superintendent.

3. Superintendent's Update

Dr. Patterson shared with the Board that she replied to nearly 100 parents over the weekend regarding Remote Learning and the 2020 Back to School Reopening Plan. Next, Dr. Patterson then informed the Board that she recently sent out her Welcome Back Letter to staff, as well as, a one page flyer to the community announcing the 2020 Back to School Reopening Plan release. Finally, Dr. Patterson informed the Board that a letter, addressed to parents who selected "Remote Learning" for their student, is scheduled to be sent out on or before August 5, 2020.

4. New Vendor-Please Pass the Love

Dr. Patterson presented the W9 for "Please Pass the Love". The organization that presented the Culturally Responsive Trauma Workshop and Midwest School Mental Health Virtual Conference; attended by Board member's Joyce Dickerson and Barbara Nettles. Dr. Patterson is seeking approval at the August 17, 2020 Regular Board Meeting.

5. FY21 Tentative Budget Presentation

Mrs. Clayton facilitated a presentation of the FY21 Tentative Budget for the Board. Mrs. Clayton is seeking approval at the August 17, 2020 Regular Board Meeting.

6. Construction Update

Mrs. Clayton shared a brief report on the progress of current construction projects throughout the District.

7. 2020-2021 Proposed School Calendar

Mrs. Veazey reviewed the Proposed School Calendar for the 2020-2021 school year. Mrs. Veazey then gave a brief breakdown of the student attendance days, institute days, holidays, and emergency/snow days. Mrs. Veazey shared with the Board that she will present the final calendar for approval following approval from ISBE (Illinois School Board of Education).

8. Providence Capital Lease Application for Laptops

Mrs. Veazey presented the Providence Capital Lease Application for FY21 Renewal Contract. Mrs. Veazey is seeking approval at the August 17, 2020 Regular Business Meeting.

9. Addendum to Maxim Staffing Agreement

Mrs. Ablin presented an addendum to the FY20 Maxim Staffing Agreement amending final amounts owed should the District become fully remote. Mrs. Ablin is seeking approval at the August 17, 2020, Regular Business Meeting.

10. Eric Harwell Contract FY21

Mrs. Ablin presented the FY21 Renewal Contract for Mr. Eric Harwell. Mrs. Ablin is seeking approval at the August 17, 2020 Regular Business Meeting.

11. New Vendor- Frontline Supplies

Mrs. Ablin presented a new vendor, Frontline Supplies, to the Board for the purpose of purchasing PPE through the ESSERS Grant. Mrs. Ablin is seeking approval at the August 17, 2020 Regular Board Meeting.

12. Audience Participation

Community member and grandmother, Ms. Wendy Potter, addressed the Board as a concerned citizen seeking to be informed of District reopening plans. Next, Prairie-Hills Jr. High teacher, Ms. Penny Lee-Cox, took a moment to address the Board with her concerns/reservations for returning to work, in addition to, some building related issues for which Dr. Patterson advised her to refer to her Principal, Mr. Kenndell Smith.

13. New Business

N/A

14. Executive Session (2:200)

N/A

15. Adjournment (2:200)

Ms. Jordan moved and it was seconded by Ms. Dickerson to adjourn the September 3, 2020 Work Session. On voice vote, all members present voted aye: Nays: None. Absent: Mrs. Myers, Mrs. Taylor and Ms. Walker.

Motion Carried 2:50p.m.

Submitted by,

Sharron Davis, President

Barbara Nettles, Secretary